One girl's reflections on international development & her travel adeventures

Istanbul

Galata tower, next to where we are staying for the next few days in Istanbul

Galata tower, next to where we are staying for the next few days in Istanbul

That welcome, unwelcome feeling is back. In a new place. In a new city. Lots of baggage. Lots of movement. At 6:30am this morning when jet-lag set in and I was up and wide awake at the sound of the first call to prayer, my mind started spinning.

Istanbul. I have finally arrived after months of anticipation and a hard last semester at UC Berkeley. It feels strange to be in another foreign place again, but then again I think I am getting used to feeling uprooted. And with the comforts of two good friends I met this Summer in Uganda, being in Istanbul does not feel so out of place for me.

I am here for only a week for an extended lay-over before my next journey begins in Accra, Ghana. During this time Hannah, Sara, and I hope to explore the large mosques, palaces, bazaars, as well as the best hidden restaurants and cafes, given as recommendations from Hannah’s friend.

Istanbul has long been a city that has mesmerized me and I can already feel the electric rhythm of the city, as my expectations have not let me down.

 

One response

  1. turkischland

    Reblogged this on turkischland.

    January 8, 2013 at 5:39 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers